Shuffle

Artist: Katie Herzig

Song/Album: Lost and Found/The Waking Sleep

Date Released: September 22, 2011

Genre: Singer/Songwriter

How I heard about Katie: She is a Nashville artist and a Mocha Club artist.  I’m sure it was one or both of these things that put her on my radar.

What I like: For starters, the lyrics and the music are a perfect fit.

It could be the theme song for this season of my life or maybe just life in general.  Some areas of my life have never felt so right while other areas feel completely disjointed.  I’m guessing this tension never really goes away.  The space between lost and found is what it means to be human, I think.  It’s nice to know that I can exist in both places simultaneously.  That’s where I am right now anyway, and this song says it so much better than I know how.  It says all of this and leaves the taste of hope on my lips after I’ve finished singing.

I also love the video.  The idea of looking for a glimpse of light is just part of being human I think.  Some say it’s fate, some coincidence, and on my more hopeful days I attribute this light to a loving Father.  No matter where we think our light is coming from, it’s something that we can all understand.

Also, that final chorus straight up soars.

What I don’t like: I have no complaints.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

